So About Next Month

We’re coming up on a fun month for writers—November, National Novel Writing Month. I’ll be participating, writing fifty thousand words of StuffedStuffed is a book concept I’ve toyed with but never seriously considered writing. It’s about stuffed animals. My stuffed animals, an ensemble of characters that I’ve held in my head ever since I first played with them. That’s why I never seriously considered writing it. I was afraid it would just be too self-serving, I’d spend too much time wallowing in nostalgia, and that the concept would be completely inaccessible to people who weren’t me. The whole idea also seems wildly unsalable, because the premise sounds like it’s meant for a chapter book, but I’m going to write it like any adult fantasy book.

My not taking it seriously is why I’m actually going through with it though. I have so much writing in the needs-to-be-edited pipeline right now (four books plus, actually), I need something that’ll just be easy. Something that won’t take much outlining. Something I won’t stress about editing. Something where I already know all the characters, and where whimsical discovery writing will fit the mood.

While I no longer fear the book will be too self-serving, I still worry about it being unsalable. But that just means I’ll release it in some alternate way. Maybe indie. Maybe totally free. Maybe a combination. I don’t know, but I’m certain writing it will be a blast.

So I’ll probably make a few NaNo posts throughout November. As a means of procrastinating from writing Stuffed, probably.

One thought on “So About Next Month

  1. Hey. The first step to having a book that people are going to like is for you to be really passionate about it. Everyone had stuffed animal stories… what makes you think we don’t want to read that in adventure form xD

Leave a Reply

